30 Day Blog Challenge. Day 27: The kind of book you want to write.

Hello everyone!

The book I most want to write is an academic book on Queen Anne and her relationship with Sarah, Duchess of Marlborough. I wrote my undergraduate dissertation on this topic and after many sleepless nights, a gazillion calories consumed between Battenburg and Angel cake, followed by a murderous amount of caffeine from tea, I feel I know a fair bit on this topic. Myself and numerous historians (ones who know basic research skills) know and agree that Queen Anne was not a lesbian nor was she bisexual. The recent WestEnd play and new film starring Olivia Coleman (who is a fantastic actress but has let herself down here) make me so incredibly angry! The writers, producers, everyone have done such little research that even in the new film they can’t even get the Duchess’ hair colour correct. This anger has made me incredibly passionate to publish my well researched dissertation (slightly bigger than 10,000 words and more weighty but at least the framework is there).

Anger and passion about Queen Anne aside though, there are other ideas I’d like to work with. I prefer writing scripts to books/stories. However since the death of my grandmother I took to writing as a form of therapy and from there a number of ideas have formulated. The genre I usually go with are murder mysteries. This has been the case since my own version of Miss Marple written as English homework at secondary school. I would therefore like to finish both murder mysteries I have started and explore that little old lady detective further.

One day I will publish my Queen Anne book (hopefully in the next five years). I will write a book on Kings and Queens and the way we perceive them throughout history (a more sociological view than historical). I may on the side write the mini spoof film I wanted and a few other scripts. I may even publish a few smaller murder mysteries just for fun. Who knows? For now though Anne has my heart, my fiery passion and the irony is I now sound like her, though my sexuality is not up for debate.

Leave a comment